first post of the year

1 Comment

Happy New Year! Anyone make any resolutions?

I will be trying something this year- sticking to “moderation”. I think limitations (like diets, yarn or otherwise) are set up to fail. They either have expiration dates, or set you up for a lifetime of sacrifice. With moderation, though, you can have it all. Just maybe smaller amounts of it.

In keeping with that faith I kept my knitting to moderation today. I didn’t stress about my late deadline project, nor get frustrated about taking on these challenged but then never having time to knit for myself. Instead I divvied up my time. I know I need to focus and make notes on my deadline project, but can knit stockinette with my eyes closed. So while my boys napped I made sure to spend the 3.5hrs working where I could pay attention, then at night catching up on Fringe with Yannick I was able to take 2 hrs and comfort knit. This way I got knitting done for myself AND for my project, and I don’t feel guilty or slighted.

And I made progress!

I’ve got 18 more repeats (36 more rows) to go before I divide for the arms and body on the Featherweight Cardigan.

Author: Jennifer Lori

maker, baker, cake decorator, mother, wife, partner, friend, gamer, reader, nerd, dork, geek, nail polish addict (not necessarily in order of importance)

One thought on “first post of the year

  1. Moderation sounds like a good plan! Is featherweight an easy knit? It’s on my list to knit. What yarn are you using?

    Like

Leave a Reply

