i felt the earth move under my feet

6 Comments

That was crazy- I felt my first earthquake!  I was sitting in my chair at work when all of a sudden it started vibrating, for about 3 seconds a shot, for about 30 seconds.  I was enjoying it until I realized that my office chair DOESN’T vibrate!

The other day I made the mistake showed Maaike my unfinished object dumping ground.  (Shh…don’t tell her it was only one of many…)

Well, she’d already known that many years ago (March of 2005) I’d started the DKNY Enchanted Forest Cardigan.  I guess she’d never realized how much I’d done before stopping, and she might have kinda guilt tripped me into having it done so I could wear it at Rhinebeck…which is, I have to admit, a good idea.

So for the last few days I have been getting a good chunk of my nightly studying done while at work, thus freeing up a bit of time to knit each night.

This is how the sweater looked when we last saw it here on the blog:

efwip3
These were the complete fronts…
efwip4
…and the back, at the time I’d last worked on them.  By the bedspread I can tell it was in our old house, before Jakob was born.  By memory I know it was before we got married, probably somewhere in Winter 2005 or Spring 2006.  The back is basically the two fronts done as one unit, with a small strip in between them that will later grow and overlap the two with a different tree.

I had to borrow a needle from Maaike ‘cus I was knitting this on my old Denise interchangeable set, which is a fine set, but a little sticky on the cord for this yarn.  I have no idea where my 5mm circ is, so Maaike lent me a KnitPicks Options one with nice sharp points.  I do all my cables without a cable needle, so I like a nice point for finagling my way in there.

I borrowed the needle on Saturday morning when I ran out to do some errands before going to my cousin Robyn‘s son Mackenzie’s 2nd birthday party.  Yannick was away for the weekend and I’d caught up a little on my studying, so I took advantage of the boys’ afternoon naps to knit.

It’s now Wednesday, and as of last night I have completed the back up to 4 rows past the armhole bind offs.  (Pretty much where you see the corner of the Hefty Ziplock bag on the right side of the first photo).  I know within the next couple of nights I’ll have the body complete, and then it’s only sleeves and bands/collar to go!  I’m looking forwards to having this one off the needles well ahead of Rhinebeck.

Author: Jennifer Lori

maker, baker, cake decorator, mother, wife, partner, friend, gamer, reader, nerd, dork, geek, nail polish addict (not necessarily in order of importance)

6 thoughts on “i felt the earth move under my feet

  1. Go you! You can totally finish it and wear it to Rhinebeck!

    Like

  2. If Yannick was away all weekend, who was working for you instead of you while you were at Mack’s party?

    Like

  3. I am finally adjusting to the earthquakes. The first couple times I just kept thinking, “Ahhh, we’re all gonna die!” Not very helpful.

    That sweater is beautiful! I am so excited to see the finished product, and I agree it will be perfect for Rhinebeck.

    Perhaps I can be inspired by you finishing one of your longtime UFOs. I have several that are haunting me and I really need to get my knitting mojo back. I just haven’t felt up to knitting lately.

    Like

  4. I didn’t feel a thing… Typical 😛

    Like

  5. Wow LOL it has been on the needles that long?!!? Better get knitting missy!

    Like

  6. I’m on your Yahoo group and thought that I would pop over to see what you’ve been knitting. I just love this pattern and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind letting me know where you found the pattern or if you designed it yourself, would you possibly be selling the pattern when you finally finish the sweater.
    Thanks so much – Jeanette

    Like

Leave a Reply

